Fort Barrington -
Experience a part of our naval history.
FORT BARRINGTON, (1779- c. 1850). In 1779 the southern entrance to St. John’s Harbour was strongly fortified by Admiral Barrington, who had defeated the French off St. Lucia in 1778. The fort is a giant semi-circular gun emplacement dominating the approaches to St. John's Harbour. It is placed upon a hill on the harbour’s southern side. The interior is interesting to explore, for found therein, are dungeon-like rooms and a powder magazine.
The ruin is also worth a visit. The magnificent views from this lookout are truly breath taking indeed. Fort Barrington was strengthened in 1790 to forestall attacks by French forces. Fort Barrington continued to play an important role in defense of the island until the second half of the XIX century (1801 -1900). A 300-foot hike to the summit (about 30 minutes) takes you up to an astounding view! It is well worth the effort.
- Parties of 2 are welcome - Please contact us for rates.
- Special Rate for Group Tours (12 or more persons) - please contact us for rates.
Private tours also available upon request.
- Complementary Rum and Fruit Punch for Group Tours.
- Government approved Taxi Fares
- Taxi Fares: Originating at Heritage Quay Port
- MEETING PLACE MAP